In Virginia, all drivers are banned from
texting while operating their vehicle. Furthermore, anyone under 19 years of age
is prohibited from using cellphones or any other personal communication
devices while driving.
It is considered a primary offense to text and drive, which means that
law enforcement officials can pull you over if they suspect you of committing
the act. The first offense results in a fine of up to $125, while the
second and subsequent offenses lead to a $250 fine.
So what does this mean for
personal injury cases involving
car accidents caused by texting drivers? Since texting while driving is considered an
illegal act by Virginia law, punishable by fines, committing this crime
can be considered negligent. In order to prove liability in a personal
injury case, you must show that the at-fault party was being negligent
– such as texting while driving – and their negligence caused
If you suffered an injury caused by a texting driver in Virginia,
Halperin Law Center is ready to help you recover your entitled financial compensation. With
millions of dollars recovered on behalf of our clients, our Richmond,
VA car accident lawyers understand what it takes to get the most favorable
settlement possible. We proudly represent individuals throughout Virginia,
DC, and Maryland.
If you want to discuss your legal options today,
contact us and schedule a