It’s not just a case—it’s your life.
Get MY Free Consultation

No Fees Until You Get Paid

Notable Case Results
  • $37.8 Million

    Defective Tire Verdict

  • $3.84 Million

    Civil Rights Settlement

  • $2.2 Million

    Truck Accident Settlement

Can I File a Personal Injury Claim for My Work Accident in Virginia? 

Accidents can happen pretty much anywhere, and work is a common location where accidents take place. If you are injured at your place of employment, you might be looking for an answer to this question: Can I file a personal injury claim for my work accident in Virginia?

The answer is yes, but only under certain conditions. Read on to learn when you can file a personal injury claim for a workplace accident in Virginia.

When You Can File a Claim for a Work Accident in Virginia

You can’t file a claim for every accident that happens at work. That’s because of workers compensation laws in Virginia. These laws protect employers from liability, and they provide financial compensation to injured workers in some cases. 

Because of these laws, you are limited in the amount of financial compensation you can receive if your injury happened at work. You also typically would go through workers compensation programs to receive financial benefits for an accident.

That being said, there are occasions when you can file a personal injury claim for an injury at work.

For example, you could file an injury claim if someone at work injures you due to a criminal act. For instance, if you are assaulted at work, you could sue your attacker. You might also be able to sue your employer for failing to prevent the assault.

You might be able to sue a third party for an injury caused by the third party but occurring at your workplace.

You could sue for gross negligence in some instances—for instance, if an employer exposed you to dangerous chemicals or fumes knowingly, and the exposure wasn’t part of your work duties, and the employer tried to cover it up.

Talk to a Personal Injury Claim Work Accident Lawyer in Richmond, Virginia

Now you have the answer to your question: Can I file a personal injury claim for my work accident in Virginia? In some cases, yes. Learn whether you have a personal injury case for a work accident by calling a top-ranked lawyer at Halperin Law Center at 804-527-0100 or by filling out the internet form below. The phone call is free.