Virginia Laws to Know before Filing a Car Accident Claim
A lot of people go many years without ever being involved in a vehicle wreck, which means they may not know what to do when the event occurs. If you’ve never filed a car crash claim, it’s very likely you will need some help. Auto crash claims can be a challenge, especially when you’re filing one with another person’s insurance company and not your own.
Before you begin the claim process, you should learn more about some of the laws in Virginia that pertain to vehicle collisions.
Virginia Vehicle Accident Laws
Virginia uses a fault system when determining who must pay for a vehicle collision. This simply means that the person who caused the crash is the one who needs to pay for it. When you didn’t cause the wreck that injured you, you have every right to file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurer.
Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage
Here are the basic insurance coverage limits that all drivers in Virginia must adhere to.
- Your policy must provide $25,000 minimum coverage for an accident involving the injury or death of one person.
- Your policy must provide $50,000 minimum coverage for a vehicle wreck resulting in injuries or death to more than one person.
- Your policy must provide $20,000 minimum coverage for property damage.
VA Statute of Limitations
All states give claimants a time frame in which they can file a claim for a vehicle collision. In Virginia, you are given two years to file your claim. You will be barred from submitting a claim after that time frame has passed.
Fault Law in Virginia
As mentioned, in Virginia, the person who was at fault for the collision is required to pay for the damages. As long as you didn’t cause your crash, you have every right to submit your claim against the person who did.
Types of Damages You Can Receive
What types of damages can you request in a vehicle crash claim? You can of course ask for payment of your property damage, and you can be compensated for all related medical treatment expenses. You can also request payment of your lost income, and if you’re permanently disabled, you can be compensated for that as well.
In addition, you may be dealing with mental trauma from the accident, physical pain, and loss of your life happiness. You can add these non-economic losses to your injury case as well.
Make the Call to a Top-Rated Vehicle Accident Attorney
Following a vehicle collision, your life has likely been turned inside out. You may be in the hospital dealing with serious injuries; you could be suffering with physical and mental pain; the accident has likely put you out of work for a while. Who is going to clean up the mess that you didn’t cause? The person responsible for your collision, that’s who.
Get help filing a claim against the negligent party responsible for your auto wreck. Contact a top-rated vehicle crash attorney from Halperin Law Center. A free legal consultation is offered to those who call 804-527-0100 or who complete the form below.